Special statement regarding attendees with passports from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen

CSCW 2017 is less than a month away but in the time remaining the organizers of CSCW are doing everything we can to enable remote presentations for paper presenters blocked from entering the United States due to the recent Executive Order signed by the President of the United States. This Executive Order has in effect banned most people from entering the U.S. if they hold passports from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

We support statements made by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the International Council for Science (ICSU) that the free and responsible practice of science is fundamental to scientific advancement and human and environmental well-being and, furthermore, that the practice of science requires freedom of movement, association, expression and communication for scientists.

We welcome questions and suggestions from the community about this topic.

Charlotte Lee and Steve Poltrock

ACM Expresses Concern About New Executive Order Suspending Visas

ICSU Statute 5