The 21st ACM Conference on Computer-Supported Cooperative Work and Social Computing

November 3rd-7th, 2018New York City's Hudson River (Jersey City)

CSCW is the premier venue for research in the design and use of technologies that affect groups, organizations, communities, and networks. Bringing together top researchers and practitioners, CSCW explores the technical, social, material, and theoretical challenges of designing technology to support collaborative work and life activities. Join us as we explore how technologies can enable new ways of living and working together.


The official program had been announced, with plenary events from Emily Bell and Julia Angwin, and a presentation by Natasha Dow-Schüll. The program features 295 research papers in 7 concurrent sessions, and over 70 posters and demos. Create your own conference schedule at Confer, or read more about some of the papers on Medium. Advance registration is strongly recommended.

Location and Venue: New York City

Champion sponsors



New for 2018

Sign up for the CSCW 2018 mailing list to get all important updates!

Call for participation

CSCW invites submission to a wide range of venues including papers, posters, demos, panels, workshops, and a doctoral consortium. The scope of CSCW spans socio-technical domains including work, home, education, healthcare, the arts, leisure, and entertainment. The conference seeks novel research results or new ways of thinking about, studying, or supporting shared activities in these and related areas. We are no longer accepting paper submissions at this time. Please visit this page to find other ways to participate in the conference.

Organizing committee

General chairs

Vanessa Evers (University of Twente)

Mor Naaman (Cornell Tech)

Paper chairs

Geraldine Fitzpatrick (Vienna University of Technology)

Karrie Karahalios (University of Illinois)

Airi Lampinen (Stockholm University)

Andrés Monroy-Hernández (Snap, Inc.)